JAMMU, FEBRUARY 12: The Upper House today passed 13 Bills, which have been earlier passed by the Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

Two Reservation Bills moved in the House the Minister for Social Welfare, ARI Trainings and Science Technology Sajad Gani Lone pertained to extending 3% reservation to Pahari speaking People in the State and 6% reservation to weaker and underprivileged sections of the society.

Lone also moved a Bill to amend the Jammu and Kashmir State Commission for Backward Classes Act, 1997 in the Legislative Council to extend the term of the chairman and members of the Commission to 5 years.

The House considered the bills and latter passed these with a voice vote.

Earlier, several members expressed their views and gave their valuable suggestions on the Reservation Bill.

The House also passed six more bills moved by the Minister for Rural Development, Panchayati Raj, Law and Justice Abdul Haq Khan.

These include Bill “To   amend the Constitution of Jammu and Kashmir” to facilitate enhancement of salary of the Chief Justice and Judges of the State High Court,  Bill for establishment Jammu and Kashmir National Law University in the State,  Bill “To amend the Jammu and Kashmir Electricity Act-2010” to facilitate setting up of J&K State Power Trading Company, “Jammu and Kashmir  Passengers Taxation (Amendment) Bill, 2018”, “Jammu and Kashmir Motor Spirit and Diesel Oil (Taxation of Sales) (Amendment) Bill, 2018” and “Jammu and Kashmir Protection of Interests of Depositors (In Financial Establishments) Bill, 2018”, for passing by the Legislative Council.

The House passed another Bill, moved by Agriculture Minister Ghulam Nabi Hanjura, to amend the Jammu and Kashmir Panchayati Raj Act, 1989.

The Minister for Agriculture, on behalf of Minister for Revenue, Hajj and Auqaf, Parliamentary Affairs Abdul Rehman Veeri moved another Bill to amend the Jammu and Kashmir Transfer of Property Act, Samvat 1977.

The House passed the bill through voice vote.

The House passed another Bill moved by the Minister of State for Transport Sunil Kumar Sharma to provide for Constitution of a State Road Safety Council and establishment of a Road Safety Fund for implementation of road safety programmes in the State.

The House passed the Bill with a voice vote.