KG News Desk
Srinagar, June 14: The J&K government on Wednesday constituted a six-member cabinet sub-committee headed by Deputy Chief Minister Dr Nirmal Singh to examine the proposal regarding adoption of State Water Policy.
The members include minister of Revenue, Disaster Management, Relief, Rehabilitation & Reconstruction and Parliamentary Affairs (Abdul Haq Khan), Minister for Forest, Ecology and Environment (Lal Singh),  Minister for Social Welfare, ARI, and Training and Science Technology (Sajjad Gani Lone), Minister for Finance , Labour & employment (Haseeb Drabu) and Minister for PHE, Irrigation and Flood Control (Sham Lal Chaudhary).
“The Cabinet Sub-Committee shall be serviced by the Public Health Engineering, I&FC Department and shall submit its report within a period of one month,” a government order issued here read.
The State had enacted Jammu and Kashmir State Water Resources (Regulation and Management) Act for regulating water resources, ensuring judicious, equitable and sustainable management, allocation and utilization of water resources and fixing the rates for use of water in 2010.
In terms of Section 4 of the Act, the Government was required, from time to time, to prepare the State Water Policy and Plan for the development, management, planning, utilization and monitoring of water resources in the State keeping in view several objectives laid down in the legislation. However, for seven years there was absolutely no focus on this vital aspect of the law.
Moreover, several times the High Court even reprimanded the authorities of the department for adopting dilly-dallying approach in handling the vital issue despite issuance of directions and on last date of hearing the Commissioner/Secretary of the department had to tender unconditional apology.
Govt forms panel to draft State Horticulture Policy
The Government today constituted an Expert Committee to draft and formulate the maiden State Horticulture Policy.
According to an order issued by Secretary Horticulture, Mr M H Malik, the members of the Expert Committee include Prof Nazeer Ahmad, VC SKUAST Kashmir, Dr Pradeep K Sharma, VC SKUAST Jammu, Dr R P Awasthi, former VC YS Parmer University of Horticulture & Forestry Solan, Dr Abdul Ahad Sofi Ex Director CITH, Vijay Sardana Head Food Security & Agri Business, UPL Group and Administrative Secretary Horticulture Department.
The Committee has been mandated to draft   comprehensive horticulture policy for 25-30 years and suggest short and long term pre-post harvest measures to increase quality, production, productivity per hectare and suggest appropriate technological interventions human resource development to meet the national nutrition requirements, international competition and safeguard the interest of growers to increase their income.
The expert committee has also been mandated to assess the potential in horticulture sector keeping in view the available land under old and senile orchards in different geo climatic conditions.
It will also assess the impact of national commitment to world Trade Organization (WTO) regime on horticulture sector and suggest appropriate measures to protect the interests of grower by staying competitive in the national and international market.
It will draft the policy keeping in view the growing GDP per capita income and future demand viz-a-viz consumption of fruit in the country as well as in the international market.
Further, the committee can take inputs from Dr Nazir Ahmad Mir, Graduate Faculty, Department of Food Sciences/Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, USA, Electronically or by video conferencing or can be called for the meeting whenever necessary.
The committee shall submit its report within a period of three months from the date of issue of the order.