New Delhi, July 17: An electorate consisting of 4,120 MLAs and 776 MPs voted on Monday to elect the 14th president of India, as Pranab Mukherjee’s term as country’s first citizen is inching towards its end.
The contest is between former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind and former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, with the scales tipped towards Kovind. Along with the JD(U), NDA has completely backed Kovind while 17 Opposition parties have backed Meira Kumar.
Since both the candidates are Dalit, the poll has been dubbed as a ‘Dalit vs Dalit’ contest, triggering the Congress to term it as a clash of ideologies.
A total of 32 polling stations – one in Parliament House and one each in the state legislative assemblies – have been set up, officials said.
The Election Commission (EC) has appointed 33 observers who are overseeing the conduct of the election. While two observers are present in Parliament House, one each is deployed in the respective state assemblies.
The ballot paper will be in two colours – Green color Ballot for use by MPs and Pink color for use by MLAs.
The ballot paper will have two columns – first column containing candidates’ names and second column for marking preferences by electors.
The ballot paper will be in English and Hindi for use by MPs and in official languages of the state and in English for use by MLAs.
The result will be declared on July 20 in New Delhi.